The Technical Council, given their technical expertise and perspectives on issues pertaining to the national advancement of municipal curbside, will counsel The Recycling Partnership in the development of strong data from the curbside recycling perspective, assess increased material opportunities and resulting impacts, provide data and data analysis, consider collection and operations best management practices, and provide guidance on other relevant recycling technical concerns. We are grateful for their time and participation. They each demonstrate leadership and outstanding commitment to improve recycling.


Council Chair

  • Liz Bedard, Technical Council Coordinator,
    The Recycling Partnership

Federal Participants

  • Kent Foerster, US Environmental Protection Agency
    Office of Resource Conservation and Recovery
    Resource Conservation and Sustainability Division
    Materials Conservation and Recycling Branch

State Participants

  • Andrew Booker, Supervisor of Solid Waste Management Division,
    Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
  • Matt Flechter, Recycling & Composting Coordinator,
    Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
  • Peter Spendelow, Solid Waste Analyst,
    Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Municipal Participants

  • Bridget Anderson, Deputy Commissioner, Bureau of Recycling and Sustainability,
    New York City Department of Sanitation
  • Ken Prue, Recycling Program Manager,
    San Diego Environmental Services, San Diego, California
  • Robert Smouse, Assistant Director,
    Solid Waste Services, Fort Worth, Texas

MRF Participants

  • Mike Pope, Commercial Director,
    Sonoco Recycling, LLC
  • Susan Robinson, Director of Public Affairs,
    Waste Management Inc.

Other Seats

  • Sara Bixby, Deputy Executive Director,
    Solid Waste Association of North America
  • Chaz Miller, Director of Policy and Advocacy,
    National Waste & Recycling Association
  • Sandi Childs, Recycling Consultant
Skip to toolbar